Genealogy

Looking for headstone photographs or inscriptions ?, Check out my site @ http://www.kerryburials.com/.
235 cemeteries from Kerry Ireland, 55,000 headstone photos, 230,000 inscriptions
from 1700 to 2016. More to follow Kerry and Cork Ireland

About Joe Maher

Creator of Kerry Headstone Project Ireland
This entry was posted in Chit Chat. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Genealogy

  1. L. MacSweeney says:

    Hello from Connecticut, USA! I too have Maher’s in my O’Connor Naugatuck, Ct. USA tree! I very much appreciate your hard work photographing these stones.I do however notice many of the stones do not go back into the 1800’s and back. I imagine the reason to be folks were too poor to put up stones, would you know the history of this theory? Also, I have search for surnames that do not product results when I know the family used that spelling in Kerry, at least in 1840’s and back, why would this be I wonder? (Two of the names are Connors in the Ballyduff/Ballybunion area and Skeelty in Glenbeigh) Thank you again for your time and efforts to make these pictures possible for us so far from and without means to come to Ireland!

  2. Joe Maher says:

    Thanks for the comment. My site is not fully indexed or transcribed yet however all the images are onsite. Yes the people were poor farmers mostly and just put up simple markers of wood sandstone or slate. Many were buried in mass graves in famine times. Many of the churches and grounds were destroyed by the English who controlled the country . I have Maher, Talbot, McKenna .in USA My Maher’s came from Tipperary Irl originally.

    Joe

    • Greg Burns says:

      Hi Joe,
      You’ve done a fabulous job in cataloging all of these graveyards in Kerry. My roots are in the Tralee area with my Sheehy and Healy relatives. I was hoping to find the grave of my 2x great grandfather, Denis Sheehy aka Denis Sheehan. He died in Flemby, Ballymac, Tralee in May, 1874 but no sign of a burial. The church has no record either. I am only guessing his grave went unmarked. His wife, Bridget Healy Sheehy/Sheehan returned to the States in 1883 with the 4 kids, 3 of whom were born in the States and Denis, Jr being born in Tralee, May, 1872. Denis, Sr may not have been from the area of Tralee as his wife was. They married in the States c. 1866 and they returned to IRL in 1871. The family has no idea why. Anyway…that’s my tale of woe. If you have any “ideas”, please share. Thanks Much
      Greg Burns
      New Jersey

Leave a Reply

